top of page

Sze (Sze Ying Chan) is a Hong Kong-born composer based in London.

Sze is interested in telling stories through music. Her lastest commissions includes music for the film 'White Paper flower' (2021) directed by Ying Ping Yu, music for the multi-media performance 'Lighting up your family stories' (2023) by artist Sandy Sin U Leong, and the sound walk 'The Divine Plan of the House of Greenwich for the Queen of England' (2024) commissioned by the University of Greenwich. Sze's electroacoustic work 'Due to a reported emergency may all passengers leave the station immediately' was exhibited in MUS Lab 2023 held in Ecuador and broadcasted by the Radiophrenia in Glasgow. Her orchestral piece 'South Kensington' and 'Fruit of the Earth' was premiered in 2024 and 2021 by the London Contemporary Chamber Orchestra. Sze's contemporary dance piece NEKO NO KOI (The Lover Cat) was premiered in 2019 in the Britten Theatre, Royal College of Music as part of the Great Exhibitionist Series.


Sze is a master graduate of the Royal College of Music and studied composition for screen with Francis Shaw and Howard Davidson, composition with Haris Kittos and Alison Kay, and electroacoustic music with Micheal Oliva. Sze was awarded a BAFTA scholarship in 2018 and received mentorship from composer George Fenton. She is a member of the London Philharmonic choir and the Ealing Symphony Orchestra. Sze holds a bachelor degree from the Chinese University of Hong Kong.


Master of Composition (Screen Composition), Royal College of Music2017 - 2019.

Bachelor of Arts (Music), Chinese University of Hong Kong. 2012 - 2017.


Japan International Choral Composition Competition 2024, first prize

BAFTA Scholar 2018-2019



Composer, Due to a reported Emergency would all passengers please leave the station immediately, MUSLAB -Planeta Complejo- Vol. 4. 


Music Preparation, Allelujah, dir. Richard Eyre.


Composer, White Paper Flower, dir. Ying Ping Yu


Composer, Chinese Works, UPPM RECORDS


Member of the London Philharmonic Choir (2019- )

Member of the Ealing Symphony Orchestra (2023- )

Member of Lay Singers (2023- )

bottom of page